CIP Deliberations and Site Selection

Thank you to all those who participated in the CIP Online Budget Allocator. Your voice will be heard. But we need to keep awareness of this project front and center until CIP deliberations are finished.

We would like to provide an update as Council enters CIP deliberations May 10 – 14, 2021.

On April 28, 2021 presentations were made to the Economic Standing Policy Committee. This was the last cultural facility presentation to City Council before the CIP. At this meeting, Councillor Jeff Carlson gave an update on the Steering Committee work and presented their recommendation to designate the Civic Common as the site for the new Performing Arts Centre. Dianne King gave a presentation on the 20-year history/background of the PAC project, the studies indicating community support, and the value of this project to the community. 

The site recommendation, as well as, keeping the PAC in the next 10 year CIP cycle were deferred to the CIP discussions taking place May 10 – 14, 2021 for future development. Also, deferred to the CIP debate was a Comprehensive Site Plan process for the Civic Commons which is required to lay the groundwork for any future development. 

Approval of the new plan is anticipated to happen on May 18, 2021. We are encouraging performing art centre supporters to keep the project alive and moving forward in the next CIP by demonstrating their support for the project and the site.
Express your opinion directly to members of City Council at the emails provided below:

Chris Spearman: mayor@lethbridge.ca
Mark Campbell: mark.campbell@lethbridge.ca
Jeff Carlson: Jeff.Carlson@lethbridge.ca
Jeff Coffman: Jeff.Coffman@lethbridge.ca
Belinda Crowson: Belinda.Crowson@lethbridge.ca
Blaine Hyggen: blaine.hyggen@lethbridge.ca
Joe Mauro: Joe.Mauro@lethbridge.ca
Rob Miyashiro: rob.miyashiro@lethbridge.ca
Ryan Parker: ryan.parker@lethbridge.ca

As well, please share your support in the community! Engage with our social media and share to your networks. Do you still have a PAC support button? Or one of the vinyl stickers or window clings? If not, starting Monday, May 3 you can pick up buttons, stickers and clings at AAC Works (318 7 Street S) or the Downtown BRZ (309 6 Street S). Swag will be close to the door or outside for safe, physical distancing.   

Unable to pick up swag right now? Visit the Lethbridge Performing Arts Centre facebook for a profile sticker on Monday that expresses your support online. On Throwback Thursday consider sharing a picture of a performing arts event and tag it #NextStageYQL #PerformingArtsMatter to raise awareness of the performing arts online. 

If you have any questions or require further information, please feel free to contact the AAC Executive Director, Suzanne Lint (403.320.0555; director@artslethbridge.org).

Sincerely
Margaret (Peggy)Mezei 
AAC Board President