CIP Public Engagement 2021

You know a new performing arts centre for Lethbridge has been a topic of discussion and advocacy for the last 20 years. Throughout this time a number of City Councils have supported studies regarding a new centre which would meet the demands that our existing performing arts facilities cannot fulfill. Considerable time, effort and funds have been expended in these studies.

During the Capital Improvement Program process in 2017, City Council established a Performing Arts Centre Steering Committee and provided funding to do the necessary planning to realize the project. The committee was tasked with determining a site, operating model and an initial design for the centre. This was a commitment to ‘growing the performing arts’ in Lethbridge for the next 100 years.

City Council will be debating the next Capital Improvement Program May 10 – 14, 2021, with approval of the new plan anticipated on May 18, 2021. We are encouraging performing art centre supporters to yet again express their support for a center to keep the project alive and moving forward in the next CIP. The City has launched an on-line survey to gather community feedback. The online Capital Budget Allocator tool will only be available until April 28, 2021. Please visit https://getinvolvedlethbridge.ca/2022-2031-capitalbudget to complete the survey.

Another opportunity is to express your opinion directly to members of City Council at the emails provided below.

Chris Spearman: mayor@lethbridge.ca   

Mark Campbell: mark.campbell@lethbridge.ca                

Jeff Carlson: Jeff.Carlson@lethbridge.ca

Jeff Coffman: Jeff.Coffman@lethbridge.ca                       

Belinda Crowson: Belinda.Crowson@lethbridge.ca

Blaine Hyggen: blaine.hyggen@lethbridge.ca                  

Joe Mauro: Joe.Mauro@lethbridge.ca

Rob Miyashiro: rob.miyashiro@lethbridge.ca                   

Ryan Parker: ryan.parker@lethbridge.ca

The political environment is challenging and COVID-19 has placed extraordinary pressures on fiscal realities municipally, provincially and federally. A new performing arts center is a long-term investment in the vibrancy of our community and it must remain a part of City Council’s vision.  Your support is imperative to keep this important facility in the City’s plan.

If you have any questions or require further information, please feel free to contact the AAC Executive Director, Suzanne Lint (403.320.0555; director@artslethbridge.org).

Sincerely,

Margaret (Peggy) Mezei 
AAC Board President